Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

The statement claims that all universities and colleges should eliminate elective courses and specify all required courses for the provide clear guidelines to the students. I agree with this statement insofar as eliminating the elective and unnecessary courses that are not align with the program will make the narrow focus on the particular topic. Eliminate the varities courses outside the topic will help the student to use their time properly to focus on their major and it will also help them to get success easily rather than study on varity courses. However, every courses are interconnected with others. For that eliminate the elective courses will less likely help the student to gain their knowledge properly and it will also affect negatively on their critical thinking abilities.

One compelling argument in favor on my position is eliminate the elecctive courses and specify all required courses will help the student to get the clear vision. This will more likely help the student to reach the ultimate position easily and get the dersire success. For example, if the student can know properly about his major and all topics then he can get clear guideline how to complete rather than if there are all courses with elective courses that are not align with his major.

Another argument is eliminate the elective courses and specify all require courses will help the student to make their focus narrow. Narrow focus on a particular topics will more likely help the student to gain deep knowledge rather than widely focus. Aditionally, this will also help the student to use their time properly and use the all resourses in effective way. For instance, in the major of electrical engineering, if some elective courses like for the student who choose their carrier in communication engineering, power electronics and power plant engineering courses will be the elective course for him. If these courses will be eliminated for him then he can make his focus narrowly on communication engineering courses. This will help him to use time properly and use all resources related his courses in very effective way.

Moreover, eliminate elective courses and provide the clear guidelines will more likely help the student to get more time and use their time in industry and this will help to get job after complete the graduation willl make him a skill person.

However, every courses are interconnected with others. Without the specific elective courses proper knowledge can not be gained. To use the knowledge in industry, the associate knowledge are required that can gain from the elective courses. If this elective courses are eliminated then it will less likely help to gain adequate knowledge to get a job. And this elimination can make the student carrier risky. For example, for a student of mechanical engineering, he should have the knowledge on power plant and other electrical components that will be completed in elective courses. Eimination this elective course will make this student half blind will affect on his carrier badely.

In conclusion, colleges and universities should eliminate such elective courses that are less likely necessary and relevant to the major. This will help the student to get clear guidelines, proper focus and use their time properly. However some elective courses that are interconnected with the major, should not be eliminated. These eliminations can affect badly. So all colleges and universities should eliminate the unnecessary courses and replace them with the necessary elective courses that align with the major