Claim Even though young people often receive the advice to follow your dreams more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals Reason Many people s dreams are inherently selfish Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

Some people may agree with the claim above citing the given reason given above for it and at a first glance it may seem like a cogent argument in favour of the claim. Because if we accept that people are inherently selfish then why won’t there dreams be selfish too. And for the betterment of society, we would want people to have more altruistic goals. But goals being selfish actually depends on the nature of individual. If he is a misanthrope then it doesn’t matter what goals they choose and good they may look from a cursory glance because beneath the veneer of their goodwill there could be some maleficence involved.

If someone is pursuing their dreams than they will work towards it diligently. Whether that dream is a selfish one or not depends on the person and also how they utilize the results of their goals. If the person if selfless than after fulfilling his/her goal they may find a use for it for the wellbeing and advancement of society as a whole. Since they are working towards their dream so they are more likely to give it their all instead of just doing due diligence.

It could happen that someone’s dream may seem foolish to others and they may say that the it is not a worthy goal because of the societal conventions. But if one still works towards their dreams than they may discover new ways of thinking thus changing those same conventions and their so-called worthy goals. For example, during Galileo’s time his research would not have been considered a good goal due to the mindset of people back then. But now we all know the weight of his contributions to physics.

In conclusion, even though it may seem like it would be better for society if people choose to pursue only selfless goals. However, people’s dreams aren’t necessarily selfish and overall may serve to better and help the society even though it may not be clear during the beginning of their journey towards their goal.