Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

In order for the nation to grow, it is necessary to provide financial support to the major cities, as these cities are the hub of traditions and cultures. It is important for the government to help these cities grow by making them favourable to a larger audience. As the cities and their population grows, the culture and tradition is preserved.

A nation comprises of a large number of cities, towns and villages. Every nation has some major metropolitan cities, where usually businesses thrive. People from the rural side flock to these well-known cities in search of better opportunities and better style of living. Thus, these cities expand geographically on an alarming basis. With the increase in residing population, it is necessary for the government to provide financial aid to help in the growth of the cities. Providing financial support to build infrastructures such as roads, schools, hospitals, etc., will attract not only attract more people, but will also improve the living of the residents. For example, Bengaluru a major metropolitan in India, is known to the hub of the IT Industry in the country, often regarded as the ‘Silicon Valley’ of India. People usually move to Bengaluru in seek of jobs in the software industry, however, due to the lack of public transport and good educational institutions, many people tend to see jobs elsewhere. If the Government of India, provides monetary aid to improve the public transport and education system, Bangalore, as a city will thrive.

As more people move into the major cities from various parts of the country, they bring along with them their cultures and traditions. Milan, a buzzing metropolitan city, has been provided financial support from the government to construct and maintain various public facilities. Thus, in the recent years, people from all over Italy have relocated to Milan for a better style of living, increasing it’s population by an average of five percent every year. Milan, has thus, not only protected cultures and traditions of Italians from different parts of the country, which can be seen in the type of food being available such as Napolean Pizza, Roman Gelato or in the fashion on the streets, but it’s also being recognised as a centre of new budding cultures.

Thus, for cities to attract and maintain various cultures and traditions of the country, adequate help needs to be provided by the government of the country.