Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

By 2050, 60% of the world’s population will be living in urban areas. This will be the greatest ratio, urban to rural, in history. For this reason, it makes sense to suggest that major cities need major funding, as this is where the majority of citizens reside. However, the logic behind this claim – that a society’s cultural traditions primarily are preserved in urban spaces – is fallacious. Much of human history has occurred prior to the ubiquitous buildup of metropolitan areas, and thus many traditions were created and practiced outside of these areas.

It is a must to financially support the growth of major cities. Given population density, infrastructure of roads, street lighting, water systems and urban waste management have all become the responsibility of municipal government. These are considered a necessary public service, both urban and rural. In addition, the government is also expected to support numerous primary and secondary schools, police and fire departments, and public health programs, for welfare and safety of citizens. Density even demands development and maintenance of public parks and plazas. This occurs much more so than in peri-urban and rural areas because such open spaces are naturally available. However, none of these needs hinges on social traditions, as the author of this claim indicates.

Many attributes of a nation’s history pre-date their major cities. This includes such _________ as the exploration of the natural environment, such as America’s Yellowstone natural park. In France, the famous artist, Cezanne, established a home and studio in the small town of Pax Auillles, a distance from Marsailles. Moreoever, social engagement such as dance, music, religion, festivals and attire evolved almost entirely in rural areas. This is never more obvious than examining Native American culture, which occurred without establishing permanent dwellings and cities, albeit territories.

It is true that cultural and social tradition has thrived alongside the rise of urban areas. Arts and culture from the countryside have migrated to the city and even deviated from their rural origins. In New York, small examples include the lighting of the Christmas lights in various public squares, the holiday decorations in Macy’s windows and dropping of the Ball on New Years Eve. Graffiti art and street performers have their greatest effect with high density foot traffic which occurs amongst the multitude of residents and workers in a city. In many countries throughout Europe, the most famous historic structures such as cathedrals and castles stand now where few people reside.

As aforementioned, municipal government has many fiscal responsibilities which contend with the support and maintenance of social traditions. While cities need to be well funded, a basic quality of life must be supported before public events and open spaces become the priority. It is true that now arts, culture, and architecture may have accelerated growth due to increasing number of urban residents, but so many of these aspects of our society occur beyond the scope of city administration. Traditions will develop wherever humans reside, funded or not.