As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given statement argues that the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate as people rely more and more on technology to solve problems. It is necessary to clarify the meaning of the ability of humans to think for themselves before we move to the next step. The understanding that I propose here is the ability of problem-solving that improves the life quality of humans. Based on the clarification, I disagree with the above statement.

Technology relieves people from trivial, mundane tasks and gives us time to do more important things such as learning and working. As an international student, I washed clothes by my hand and hanged them out before coming to the U.S. It would take at least a day for me to get clean and dry clothes, which also made me tired and annoyed. Now I do laundry in a laundry room where I only need to pay a small amount of money and leave the clothes for the washing machine and the dryer to take care of. I am not reluctant to do the laundry anymore because technology makes my life much easier. Moreover, I have more time to do something that matters, such as studying for my homework or joining a student organization. Thus, I can contribute my time to tasks that maximize my thinking ability.

Furthermore, technology can increase the efficiency of our work and allow us to think for ourselves better. One obvious example is that I am now taking the online GRE test as a result of the advancement of technology. I don't need to worry about running out of paper or poor calligraphy because I have a long-lasting and standardized writing instrument — the computer. I can focus on thinking and organizing my writing structure instead of irrelevant things. Another example is the invention of Google Scholar. As a comprehensive scholar search engine, it provides rich and high-quality academic information which inspires my work and allows me to think better. I can conduct my research based on empirical evidence and diverse perspectives. The easy accessibility to rich information gives us opportunities to recognize different solutions to the same problem, and then we can solve the problem much easier.

When we realize technology as a strong tool for humans to live with less burden from logistics and become more productive in thinking for themselves, we need to be aware of certain circumstances that technology enslaves humans. Technology dependency, especially prevalent among adolescents, can lead to a devastating result. I have watched a documentary on young adolescents indulged in games spending all of their time and money in this virtual world. They didn't care about real life and could hardly think about anything else except games. When technology becomes the dominant part of life rather than tools that support life, the ability of humans to think for themselves will deteriorate because they no longer care about solving problems in the real world, which helps them to live better.

It is reasonable to conclude that technology has pros and cons, which may help or damage our life. What matters is how people utilize technology. Some people can leverage technology to achieve a more thoughtful and colorful life; some become slaves of it and lose their abilities to think for themselves.