Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement argues that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I strongly disagree with this statement because it assumes that schools have the power to determine the possibility for students to succeed. The way to success is not like cooking – following a recipe to achieve a good result; it is a complex and dynamic process that can be influenced by many factors in the society, and it is unlikely to have a guidebook for evaluating the possibility of success.

The schools' judgment on the likelihood of success may largely base on academic performance, which is one-sided to understand students’ abilities and growth. In some cases, the grades are low in reliability to predict students' performance. One of my friends in undergraduate was not a typical "good" student -- he often missed classes and got bad grades for exams. Later, however, he, as an undergraduate, succeeded in publishing an English paper in a top 3 journal of developmental psychology, and he became the legend of the department as no one had done this before. After talking with him, I came to realize that he spent most of his time researching by himself -- going to the kindergarten to collect data alone and doing the analysis at home. It is hard for schools to determine the possibility of students' success because students often perform differently under different contexts. The information for schools to make judgment may be limited and biased.

Sometimes even if students don't show any talent in the relevant field from all aspects of their performance, schools should not simply dissuade them from giving up. It is common that people are slow in studying in the beginning and catch up with their peers later. Development is a dynamic process rather than fixed points; it is likely that students may perform better after hard working driven by their interests. As the old saying goes, interests are the best teachers. Imagine that a school dissuades its students from pursuing fields that they are unlikely to succeed, then what should students study instead of the original field? It is easy to destroy than to reconstruct; students lose their original passion may fail to find new paths, which leads to a devastating result.

Although some people will argue that it is hard for a blind person to learn to pilot, to say that educational institutions should not to discourage students from pursuing their chosen fields is not equal to say that schools should encourage students to do whatever they want to do. When students get enrolled in a certain field, they must have passed the minimum requirement of studying that field -- they are qualified in the first place. What I try to argue here is that it is not educational institutions' responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing their original fields because the criteria that they use to decide the likelihood to succeed is not reliable and they don't have rights to extinguish students' interests.