A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Students are the biggest asset for a nation and education is a tool to make them prepared to lead the nation in the future. There is a debate about whether students should be educated under a national curriculum until they enter college or they should be divided into different specialized curriculums from a young age. I strongly agree with the prompt for the following three reasons.

Firstly, students may have different strengths, weaknesses, and preferences and are not mature enough to understand that at a young age. A student can be considered mature by the college to decide what he wants to do and needs exposure to general subjects until they enter college. Studying under a general curriculum helps a student to explore his interests and choose the right field for him which can result in generating a professional adult who enjoys his work and can contribute his best for the betterment of the nation. For instance, there might be a student who is good at math at a young age but with time becomes uninterested in this subject, and being able to quit to find a new interest can help him to grow otherwise stuck in a field that does not excite him anymore, could have led him to depression and it would be waste of a potential for a nation.

Secondly, education is provided to arm the students with the necessary knowledge to shine in their personal and professional lives. In any profession, collaboration between people of different professions is required to do a project. If the students are not getting educated under a general curriculum for a certain time, there can be conflicts in such collaborations due to gaps between individual’s knowledge. Also, more aware and alert citizens can be created as they understand how basic things work in a nation and can speak up when something seems wrong to them. A responsible citizen must be aware of his surroundings which can be achieved by studying in a generalized education system as it provides all the basic knowledge to lead a good life. There are few subjects such as math and English which require to be learned by everyone and if it is not taught due to different curriculums to some people, they will lag in their daily life.

Moreover, equal chances are provided to each person by allowing them to study under a general curriculum for the time being. For example, if a student is not bright at a young age and gets neglected by being him into a field which might have a very low position in the society is equal to snatching the chance from him to improve. Due to this, a citizen would be deprived of his right to get a basic education. So, every student should be given equal opportunity by getting the environment to grow and flourish.

However, it can be claimed that learning a specific skill from a very young age can make a skilled generation but this system can not benefit all of the students. There can be exceptions where an extraordinary student needs to be put under a specialized curriculum to direct his intelligence to the right path. To support such talents, they can be provided with extra facilities rather than establishing a system that can hinder the potential of most of the students.

In conclusion, a nation can not shine if its students are not allowed to shine in their fields. Putting all the students under a general curriculum enables them to explore their interests and get a productive population who are capable of generating the best outcomes in their corresponding fields, and can collaborate effectively with different professionals. Special guidance can be provided to extraordinary students but general education is a basic right of people.