Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Experience is the best teacher. We learned too much from our experience in life as it helps to make some decisions based on previous experience. The claim suggests that we can't make decisions in the present based on the experience because there are no connections between them. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the claim because of the following reasons.

To begin with, the experience is the sum of all the events favorable or unfavorable, as a human, we learn too many things each day. We repeat the actions which are favorable and eschew the unfavorable actions. Whether it's a good experience or bad experience it's always stored in our mind and we remember that same experience in the future for similar events. It's always good to consider experience because it will save time and energy. For instance, the company doing the export business for three years and expand its area into other countries. Once this company faced the problem of fraud while giving the goods in credit terms to its previous region clients. Consequently, whenever this company gets new clients from the expanded region it will avoid giving goods in the credit based on their previous experience. Hence, the decision based on the past not only save time but also serve in the great means for oneself. The above example illustrates that the experience is the driven force in taking most of the important decisions in the present situation as it's the only fact one believed more than anything.

Furthermore, peoples always take advice from experience one, not from the amateur. It's because experience one's is well aware of the shortcoming and prospects of most situation. It's more fruitful when the decision is taken after account of the pros and cons based on the review of the experience. For example, while selecting the major field of study, students should review the experience one in that field as well as their past interest in that field. The field of business, political, and education are so sensitive that one should always consider the experience before taking bold resolution. For example, while selecting the leader of any political party, one should account for records of the person as it's a credit to the peoples depends on one's past behavior. Also, while taking bold business decisions, like hiring the CEO, the company should evaluate the past performance of the person for it's the best. The above examples demonstrate that the current decision making based on experience and evaluations always lead to the best decision.

Of course, some may argue that things happen in the past stay in the past and don't have enough effect on the present situation. However, one's behavior comprises the experience and take decisions based on their previous experience, so there is a connection between the present decision and experience. Like student frequently failed in maths in his school, will abstain from the maths major in the universities.

All things considering, we can say that the things which already happen are enough merit to consider it while taking any decision based on those events. Hence, the experience is the utmost valuable thing in taking the important decision in the present.