Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Past events sometimes helpful in taking important decisions while sometimes it doesn't. Historical events are evidence of the past of a person, organization's or things and even it helps in deciding whether it is good or not how it is not harmful and much more. Whenever an important decisions are taken they need to be taken with care as it might defame someone or country, harm the future of citizens or country. According to famous personality, "History repeats itself after some time". Whether to do background check or not it depends on how person who does it and how loyal he his towards humanity.

Events are truly important in deciding one's future like for example A Raja a well known politician who was involved in 2G scam of India as master mind. The politician misused the power of ministry in allocating 2G spectrum to organizations without having bid for it. If we had perform some background about the person then we could have avoid occurring such scam which shattered and defamed India on international scale.

While some scammers forge documents to look like its real but still its our duty to do thoroughly check. For example Diamond Merchant Nirav Modi who scammed Punjab National Bank of India to grab huge amount of loan by forging fake documents of assets which his organizations never possessed. Even though the thoroughly check was done but still somehow he managed to corrupt the officials of bank in allocating lump sum amount to his organizations. If, the officials never had the avarice to conduct such scam we would have impeded it.

It, we had done every time background check about how the person was and whether he/she committed any crime. For example Robert Downey Jr who committed crime in his teenage. If, producer had done background check and found about his past then then the producer had lost such extraordinary talent of Robert who was casted as Iran Man in Iron Man movies series and in Marvel Universe.

Some examples do exist in technological hub like Elon Musk who is well known for his extraordinary talent to solve most challenging problems. If, Elon take some initiative to bring a change in society then no one will cast doubt on him about his talent. He has proved his talent in front of world how extraordinary he is.

According to the given examples, it sometime matters to do background check to prevent a catastrophic event but sometimes it doesn't as we might loss some extraordinary talen which is hidden from world. I do personally believe that it depends on who the background checker is and is he willing to take risk by employing the person.