Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people’s hearts or minds.

Every society in a world, there are laws which has to be followed by every person. Laws are introduced to maintain a peace within societies and moreover, laws or agreements created between societies to maintain a peace in between societies. Laws are made to help humans in society to live a simple, calm life without conflict and chaos. When the laws are made to oppress feelings of some group or communities, persons in a group dissent about it.

Laws are made to protect and to improve lifestyle of human being. But, there are some laws created by majorties which are imposed on minorities in a group.Some laws are created in line of religion and to maintain in a society. For example, laws made against LGBT(Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender) marriages. This issue was not solved across a world after imposing heavy punishment. LGBT community protested against law which was forced on them. Laws were unable to change a hearts in

community. Instead, The laws were changed in favor of LGBT marriages and thier rights are given to them. This example shows forcing a rudimentary law in a modern society does not change minds.

On other hand, laws helps to improve lives and thinking in a society. In some parts of india, there were custom such as women used to burn herself after the death of her husband. This custom was banned by the government which thousands of lives of women. There may be some people get offended after banning it and they might have not changed their minds.

Another example, slavery - slaves were deprived of basic rights of life. They were not controller of their lives but their master. After law against slavery, there might be resentment in masters of slaves. Certain laws are required in a society for betterment of societies, laws should be made even if its does not change mind of some minds in a society.

In a conclusion, laws have to be for betterment and maintaining a peace in a society.