Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

The legal system introduces to keep control of the unfavorable action of the public. The laws changes according to the time and peoples of society follow the laws to maintain their standard with society. The claim suggests that most of the problems of society can't be solved using the laws and legal system due to no laws can change people's minds. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the suggestions because of the following reasons.

To begin with, the laws are the rules or standard boundaries within which one should act. After years of evaluation, the human mind can discern good work and detrimental work for mankind. Consequently, Humans learn to live along with other humans to get a mutual benefit. Hence, they make the system or law, which one needs to follow to get the benefits of living along with society. So, people of society works under the laws and regulation for their benefit or the fear of being isolated from society. For instance, in modern society there are many banks, jewelry stores, and other precious product stores, one can easily be robbed with sufficient work. However, very few think of doing such an audacious act because of the fear or boundaries of the law in which we are living. The above example illustrates that the laws are the only force which keeps the peoples in the control in account to maintain the decorum of society. Thus, it's possible with the law to change the people's mind to solve the many problems of the society.

Furthermore, it's not necessary to change one's mind or heart to solve the problem. We can do it just by the force or compel one to follow the defined system. Governments can enforce the law to solve the complex problem and punish them who didn't follow the required law. Consequently, if the one doesn't want to follow it by heart yet he or she obeys the rules due to the fear of punishment. For example, the government wants to control the pollution level in certain cities, which is happening due to the overuse of the vehicle. Consequently, governments introduce the policy which allows odd license number vehicles on odd dates and even license number vehicles on even dates, and the license of the one will be canceled who don't follow the rule. Hence, most of the people will follow the rules in the fear of punishment, which solve the government's problem of pollution. The above example illustrates that the laws or legal processes can alter one's mind or heart by force. Thus, we can say that the current problems of society can be solved with the help of the law either by force or request, but it will be solved.

Of course, some may argue that every problem of society can't be solved with the force of law. However, the law doesn't always mean to be punished sometimes the law can be used to encourage the one who obeys the rules. Consequently, to get the appreciation public will start following the rules. For example, rather punishing those who spread the dirt in society, the government encourages those who clean the dirt in society than other people will start doing the same. Hence, it's the law which can get rid of most of the problem with changing people's thought.

All things considering, we can say that the law is the force which prevents the one from doing pernicious work. People will always follow the rules for their mutual benefits. Law can change people's minds and hearts either by force or by request to solve the existing problems.