CLAIM: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

REASONS: All actions- even those that seem to be done for other people-are based on self interest.

Humans are considered as the most intelligent and moral species in the world. Co-operation, support and unity has always been some factors that differentiate human from others but with advancement and modernization, beneficent acts are being less common and people are getting more self-centered and most of their acts involve the intentions of getting profits rather than contributing selflessly for the society. So, I mostly agree with the prompt saying that acts purely intended to be devoted for others are very rare now. One of the reasons that corroborates the claim indicates some social services that are done to deceive people but actually a way of advertising and promoting their own business by the capitalists. They launch charity events with flamboyant decorations in front of press, electronic media and other social influencers but the solo motivation for all of these is to get people acquainted with their new products. No one checks whether the fund actually reaches to the poor or not and investors like to buy company’s share and people want to buy products hoping that a portion of the gain will be delivered to the lower class but mostly that doesn’t happen.Also, another example can be the political campaign during the election. Before the election, suddenly development works increase rapidly and the elected candidate who wants to regain the position, try to manipulate people’s mind with his immediate responses and masses sometimes judge him with his recent activities rather than all that he should have done but didn’t in his last couple of years in power. That means most of the public services are not effective but ostentatious display of upper class.

For another reason, it can be said that to work dedicatedly for others, one has to deviate himself from all luxuries and comfort and should lead an austere life mostly focusing on humanitarian work. But with a short span of life, human mind wants to have all the comforts they want. That’s why it’s actually hard to manage time for voluntary works most think as secondary. For instance, in a world of competition and rush, people only care about getting higher. The more anyone gets, the more they desire and they are interested in going to the pinnacle where all successes will be at his fist. Even doing so, they sometimes don’t know what is the situation of their neighbour or the poor living in the slum across their own street. They don’t want to share the income of their hard work where a society is about people of all walks of life. But with the busy cycle of life, the poor and low classes can’t keep their pace due to poverty. Evidently, that emphasizes the point of having fewer cases where the focus is the development of masses with zero benefit.

However, there are some examples where people think out of the boxes and listen to their inner voices rather than thinking practically. They sacrifice their life for the greater good of community who needs help during disasters and calamities.In the case of Mother Teressa, known worldwide for being an idol in the field of voluntary work, not only take care of them but also motivate others to do so and results are now conspicuous. International organizations like Red Crescent, UNESCO etc are working monotonously without thinking of any mutual benefit. Morever, the young generations are also joining their ventures. During the pandemic, adolescents are seen distributing pamphlets and demonstrating how to wash hands properly and maintain hygiene and they are involved for their moral and social responsibilities rather than getting paid by some corporations.

Finally, the conclusion can be done by saying, despite having some instances of altruistic events, mostly all our aim is to focus on achievement for our own and the moral ‘charity begins at home’ is the unfortunate truth now-a-days.