Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

Ample amount of people are interested in history and artifacts these days, but some people say that to learn about the history, it requires great artistic and creative approach for understanding. Some believe that to recreate the scenario and understand what had happened in the past, one should have a creative approach in which they can analyze about the historical things. I partially agree with it for the following reasons.

Investigating and learning about the ancient times is not easy as it seems. Most of the times, it is extremely difficult to know where the artifact has originated from. In such scenarios, it’ll be extremely important to imagine and try to analyze where and from which era the artifact might belong to. For instance, a few days ago, archeologists found ancient utensils in the southern east part of India where they were not sure to which era it belongs to. They believed that there lived a tribe decades ago for whom these utensils might belong to. Creative and analytical thinking of archeologists helped them to identify from origination of the artifacts.

On the other hand, I personnally believe that one should have keen interest towards the field to dig deep into the history and identify the past behind it. Sometimes it can be possible that what the people believe and imagine may not be right. For instance, imagine a person finding an artifact in the jungle. With his creative thinking, he might create a story of how he strongly believes the object belongs to. However, in this scenario, he might be wrong to come to a conclusion about the artifact as he is not an experienced person in the field of acheology. This might lead to people blindly beliving in him and not cross checking the fact.

To conclude everything that I have mentioned above, creative thinking is required fro identifying the history for the archeologists but if any common man uses it, this might not be the right way to conclude about the history.