Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

It is not uncommon for some people argue that the history is objective and will never change, so when learning it we don't have to use imagination. However, based on the incompleteness, we don't have a comprehensive understanding of the past, so some may argue that learning about the historical past requires creativity. From my point of view, I suppose it makes sense.

It is widely accepted that evidence from the past is objective and material, such as the bones from the ancient times. The scientists can use technology to determine where are they from and how long has they been. However, although the evidence cannot be changed over time, it may be fragmentary while history is consistent, which is hard to explain the coincidence between one and another. In this case, historians have to speculate what was like at that time based on the evidence. Moreover, as more and more ancient stuff being revealed, the conclusion they have made would probably changed.

Some people would argue that it is historians and archaeologists pursuit to figure out what's going on in the past. The imagination and speculation would misleading people. For example, many people are misguided to believe every man ought to marry more than one wife in ancient China, which turns out to be wrong. Although it is possible that false conjunction would make people confused, the science is developing consistently, so people cannot blame on the conclusion based on the insufficient evidence. As long as a conclusion is founded, although it may not be tested, it can be accepted for a period until the new evidence implementing.

The third reason of the statement is because the nature of history. As no one can tell what was exactly going on in the past, we must use imagination to guess. Nowadays, we can comprehensively learn the story in the past, because people have written down and reserved some important stuff. However, they may contradictory sometime, like in different time, places. This situation needs historian to consider what contributes to it, and whether should trust.

All in all, I think it is necessary to use imagination in reconstructing the past.