Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

Historical evidence and the work of the archeologists help us understand about the past events that has happened. As the author has mention in the prompt, learning about the historical past requires creativity. I strongly agree with this for the following reasons.

In the 21st century, there are ample amount of theories regarding any historical events. However, people ask for a lot evidence and the creative approach from which they have come to the conclusion of the particular fact. For instance, it is not possible for people to know exactly how the eleventh century lived. We can never know what kind of clothing they used to wear, the food they used to eat, etc. To analyse all these, we require a creative thinking and to make people believe, they need to represent it in a creative way. This creative thinking can be used to make a video about the past and present it on Youtube with more pictures and the video clips perse, so that people will have clearer idea about it.

Moreover, children have been imagining history since they were in school. While attending the history class, they require a great imagination to picturise what the teacher has been explaining about. It will be extremely difficult to understand if one does not imagine or be creative enough to imagine the scenario.

Additional to this, movies and TV series plays an important role in helping people learn about history as well. There are people who prefer to learn by visualization rather than reading which will help them to understand in a better way. Directors who take the written scripts and put in a movies, is nothing less than requires creativity. Adding more details than are in the written scripts, might help people in grasping the concepts transparently. For example, the titanic, one of the epics of India - Mahabharath. All these movies have made people understand the concept so clearly and make them feel like witnessing the event by themselves.

To conclude everything that I have mentioned above, it takes great imagination, artistry and creativity in learning history. Not just the work of the archeologists, but also the youtube content creators, movie directors and more of such people help us understand about the past events that has taken place.