Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim may seem promising, for some students are bemused about what they really want to be in the future; nevertheless, universities provide education for higher level and higher level educations are meant to be specific, focusing primarily on the career objectives. The given reason is valid in some extent; however, not only acquiring knowledge of various academic discipline but also acquiring comprehensive knowledge of a single academic discipline is one of the best way to become truly educated. Therefore, I’m conditional with the given claim and the provided reason.

Most of the students go to the university to garner knowledge along with the certificate to meet their career objectives in their specific field of interest. In such a scenario, expecting students to take extra courses will exceptionally add burden on them. In addition, it will pose students to deviate from their actual career objectives. If a student want to gain knowledge on the subjects outside their major field of study, they can do it themselves as the advancement in technology has made gaining knowledge

accessible at any corner of the world by the use of internet. Even an art student can gain knowledge on the scientific subjects like physics and mathematics at their home by the use of computer and internet technology.

Instead of requiring students to take a variety of courses outside the student’s major field of study, I think, universities can offer variety of extra courses, although the universities should not mandate their students to enroll into those courses: the students should have utter freedom to decide whether

they want to take those courses or not. If the students are compelled to take the extra courses in which they’re not interested, the course implementations may not be as effective as it could be. Adding the extra courses to the curriculum may add unnecessary burden on the students. Moreover, the provided extra courses may not be germane to the students’ career objective: I mean it’s futile to require a management student to learn the electronic circuit design and development, Isn’t it?

Some people may argue that acquiring knowledge of various academic discipline is the best way to become truly educated, although you can’t regard one truly educated if those knowledges are superficial. Just imagine, a single person having a comprehensive knowledge of doctor, engineer, pilot, lawyer, etc. Is it pragmatic? Of course not, it’ll require one several lives to gain complete knowledge in many fields of subject. In fact, acquiring the comprehensive knowledge is what matters the most. For example, a lawyer with the all-round knowledge regarding the law and the judicial bodies is someone you actually can consider truly educated. Albert Einstein- one of the great scientist of all the time- is regarded as a truly educated person; although, he did not gain knowledge in several academic subjects. In fact, he is regarded as a truly educated person: the expertise he gained in his particular subject.

As a recapitulation, universities shouldn’t require their students to take a variety of courses outside their major field of study. Instead, students can be offered with a variety of courses pertinent to their career objective. On the basis of the reasoning and the example provided in the previous paragraph, it is clear that acquiring the knowledge of various academic disciplines isn’t the best way to become truly educated. Instead, acquiring the comprehensive knowledge on a particular field of study is the best way to become truly educated.