Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A “Jack of all trades or a Master of one” is a debate that not only students but universities building their education programs vacillate over often and then arrive to a decision only to start second-guessing it soon after. Prompt claims that universities should include and make it mandatory for every student to take up variety of courses outside the domain of student’s major field of study based on the reason that this would help them acquire knowledge of various academic disciplines and would be the best way for them to become truly educated. I strongly agree with the claim and believe that pursuing topics and concepts from a variety of academic disciplines is in the best interest for the students for two reasons.

To begin, the job market today has only as much certainty as the promises of a politician amidst an election has in terms of job security and growth. The depth of the student’s major study may seem promising on paper yet the demands of the job market and potential employers out there are changing every few years and drastically if seen over the span of a time-period like a decade. For instance, twenty years ago, when mechanical engineering and other core engineering branches were the booming and safe option, not many wanted to ‘waste’ their times or efforts learning about the recently introduced computer engineering. Skip twenty years forward and you can barely name an industry where you don’t have the need for computer engineering skillset. A student who only focused on the core aspects of his mechanical engineering degree back then might now, be a man stuck at the risk of unemployment because of youngsters possessing broader skillsets can perform more number of tasks than him and more importantly a broader variety of tasks. So it is important to gain some knowledge about the basics or shallow depths of a variety of academic disciplines so that you can always be prepared for the changing market and enhance your abilities easily as and when needed.

Further, how much can one grow possessing only the knowledge and experience from one particular field of study? This is a question that students must spend profuse time on to get clarity about what the future could hold for them. For instance, a person having focused on only his major field of study and no other disciplines can work diligently at his specific job and at the best in most cases become the employee of the year. But in very rare cases will he be promoted to a managerial post or to a higher paying, more responsible position. Because to achieve that, he would require managing skills that he might not have gotten from his major field of study and will cost him his professional growth at a time which might seem too late to learn anything new. Therefore, it is always a good option to have some knowledge and experience from various disciplines not only to keep you safe from risks of unemployment but also to insure your growth throughout your career.

One might say you will never be able to learn ‘everything’ about your major if you keep taking on other disciplines so why not focus all your time on something you are good at rather than something that you are not at. But is that not exactly why students need to spend time on concepts outside their field? They will be able to manage problems for their field anyway if they spend a little less time studying them as they are good at those topics but studying various disciplines will widen the spectrum of different problems they would be able to tackle. You can be educated ‘truly’ only when you are a carrier of knowledge from more than just one field of study.