Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is not uncommon among students to ruminate for months over the decision of choosing a major, and immediately after taking a decision, students start to doubt it. Accordingly, the prompt suggests that universities should give the chance to every student to choose courses outside their major field of study. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this recommendation for the reason stated in the prompt and for to other reasons.

First of all, Taking up courses from a different major sometimes help a student become more enlightened with teh concept of his own discipline. The concepts and trends studied in another minor course might help one better understand the concepts in their own subject. Lets take an example of a medical student. To understand many bodily function , a student must learn about the chemical reactions and consequences occurring inside a body. And taking up courses from Chemistry, might help the student have a more clear concept of the chemical functions and what is the reason for such chemical reactions. While only focusing on the bodily reactions, might only educate the student about the reactions of different chemicals to a body. Another example would be, A student studying law might benefit taking courses from history as it will educate him of the origin of the laws and get a clear grasp of the concept why a specific law was constitutionalized. These examples demonstrate the benefits of taking a variety of courses outside one's own major as it only help them become truly aware of the concepts of their own discipline.

Secondly, when a student takes up a field of study, he will only know if he is truly interested in the subject after studying about it for a year or so. Similarly, if students are given the chance to explore courses outside their own field, one will get the chance to understand what subject truly interests them. For instance, if a student chooses a discipline and only studies courses related to that discipline , when he is getting a lower grade , it will only lower his self confidence. But in reality , the case might be that the student does not find the subject interesting enough to work hard for it. But giving students the option to explore other fields means giving them the option to understand what they actually like studying and might be good at. Interest drives passion and giving students the option to explore what they find interesting will produce skilled professionals in the future rather than people who slack off due to lack of interest.

While some might argue that it will be not be beneficial for some students who knows what they like and they are working hard for it. And making it compulsory for every student to takes courses outside their field of will only waste their time. But I would argue that no knowledge goes to waste. A knowledge that might seem to be futile at this point in life will someday be useful for the person. In conclusion, universities should implement the rules to require every student to take courses outside their major for their own expansion of knowledge and to explore their interest.