People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decision-making is a responsibility that often holds the power to make or break your life. Every day, every moment, we tend to make several decisions, be it as small as which dress to wear or as big as which career or job to select. The statement mentioned states that when people go by their heart more than their intellectual brain, and then just for the sake of justification, give random logic, their decisions tend to burn them. I partially agree with this, and my point of view is based on 2 instances.

Sometimes, it so happens, that we need to hear our inner voice and then decide. For example, when we have to select a career for ourselves, we need to understand what we really want rather than just looking at the big names that are the 'hot' jobs of that time. These trends fade now and then. Our decisions should be a combination of our emotions and our intellect. But on the other hand, if some decision has been made with emotion, later just for the sake of justification, you need not give an explanation. Sometimes students take up a certain subject choice based on peer pressure, then later justify it with pros of that subject. But what about your will and your interest? Emotional decisions make sense, but only when they are strengthened by a deep calculative thought.

To see another side of the coin, let's understand this with an alternate situation. If we consider a business where major decisions have to be taken quickly, that affects a lot not only the business but all the staff members associated with it, in this situation, any emotional thought should not deviate from your decision. It should be pragmatic calculations, logic, reasons, and a firm idea that should bolster your decision. For example. the co-founder of Infosys, Mr. Narayan Murthy took the decision to leave his job, just to work on his idea of bringing a technological revolution in India. This decision was not made in haste, he took about 3-4 months to calculate the pros and cons of the decision and how it would affect his life. When he was confident with his choice, only then he decided to take the step forward. Had he been emotional about the financial stability of his family or anything else, we wouldn't have Infosys today.

People might cross-question my opinion with shreds of evidence showing the contrasting consequences of decisions made emotionally, but, I can say that this depends majorly on the situation. Sometimes you have to think emotionally as well. This does not make you a poor decision-maker, but it will only add on to your belief in your choice. Thus when we dig deep in our hearts and paint our decisions with colors of emotion, sometimes it does end up ruining our lives, because there is no logic involved. We can say that such people are bad decision-makers.

An ideal way to make decisions should be to reconcile with our emotional and intellectual powers.