Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships

online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Since the mid 19th century to contemporary days, technology has had a great impact on mother earth and her denizens. The upshots of these impacts are both beneficial and detrimental to the demeanor of modern humans. While the rife in the use of these technologies helped made life easier, it also stimulated some vices in both adults and scions. Hence, these devices has stymied the development of social skills in modern adolsecents life while also aiding these youngsters to achieve things that are inconceivable yeons ago.

It is apparent that smartphones and gadgets has made learning easier for the 21st century children. Courses are now easily accessible. School lessons are also flexible for both students and lecturer. More skills can now be acquired within qualified time. But the same devices that made these positive changes in the society also spurred dishonesty in these kids. Social media such as Instagram and Twitter now facilitate the touting of jewelries, most of which cannot be proven to be genuine or baroque. This has led youngsters to want finagle their accumulation of wealth without any justifiable means.

Apart from the promotion of dishonest acts, computer related devices has also helped to stymie effective communication. Children no longer know how to constructively engaged adults in long conversation. They also tend to lose patience required to deal with kinsfolk or strangers. True, one might cavil that these devices facilitates the contact of remote kinsmen. But we need to consider the length of these contacts. They are not as lengthy and comprehensive as physical discourse. These virtual communications are also not as sincere as one-on-one parley as the locutors’ gesture are not observed.

Going further, some might also contend that these devices helped children expand their social networks. Thereby enabling these kids to develop social skills and engagement skills. This is true to some extent. But we need to look at the type of network that are developed on mobile devices. A quorum of these networks are not sincere. Most are even mercenary-based. Earnest link-ups has waned with the increase adoption of these devices. Little wonder why the amount of devious acts has proliferated across the planet over the years.

In conclusion, the advent of portable devices has indeed helped reshaped our world. This reconstruction has offered both positive and negative changes. Part of the advantage of this reshapement is the facilitation of learning activity, easier and faster communication with contiguous and remote relatives, and much comfortable lives. On the other hand, these gadgets has helped stimulate machiavellain acts, dishonesty, impatience and impertinacious demeanors. Ergo, the use of these devices by young people should be supervised and controlled by authority figures such as parents or older relatives. Through this, the benefits derived from these devices will be more than the iniquities caused by these gadgets.