Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The given claim and reason states that because portable device encourage users to form affected personalities and connections online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them, young people’s tendency to make extensive use of these devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills. The given topic is highly contentious because different people may have disparate opinions and position in the topic. Some can go for the topic and others cannot argue with it at all. Personally, I agree with the given claim and the reason; reasons and examples supporting the positon is presented in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, when young people use portable devices like smartphones and tablets for long duration, they will have less interactions among the people in real life; due to this reason they are unable to develop social skills like how they should talk with different people, deal with different people, respect different people so obviously the such devices encourage to make artificial relations, young people cannot develop social skills. For instance, Ram used to play tablets and smartphones daily, he had always given priority to portable devices than the people in real, later he had very little social skills. Many call him gauche due to his poor social skills; he unable to succeed in real life like in job interview, in party, etc. Therefore, due to extensive use of portable devices Ram lost the social skills.

Furthermore, those who use extensive portable devices do not understand the social skills because they think smartphones and tablets is everything in this universe; they assume that we can get everything in the such devices connecting the internet like fun, friends, etc. So due their misconception they do not want to make friend in real, do not want meet people and relatives they just love virtual life this hurts their development of social skills. For example, Denish, who is my causin, smartphones too much so that he thinks he can get everything on the social media at the same time he cannot understand the importance of development of social skills. Therefore, due to overuse of smartphones, now he even cannot deal with the people, relatives which is hampering in his personal, academic life.

However, some people might argue that, using such devices is good in developing the social skills because they can see many different people, meet different people and can learn by seeing them. While it cannot deny that using such devices can learn social skills, it has more negative impact than positive; it can teach young people very little skills but in real life they need different type of social skills, they have to develop in real.

In conclusion, the reasons and examples presented support my position on the given claim and reason that young people’s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills because such devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationship online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.