Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I mostly disagree with this claim. As this claim takes a very limited view of what should be counted as social skills: according to this claim, social skills are limited to only skills for face-to-face communication, whereas in the digital age, the social skills for communication via social media are as important. Due to this overly narrow definition adopted by this claim, the reason behind the claim is in itself questionable: while it is true that users tend to contruct personas for online activities that are different than their real-life personalities, this is by no means dishonesty, but a common social skill that is used in online and face-to-face communications alike. To elaborate, one constructs different personalities for every different contexts of communivcation, no matter it is online or in-person contexts, because different contexts have different codes of conduct. Take a college student as an example. The college student may appears to be chill and a bit flippant when he is among his peers because he needs to fit into his peers, while he is diligent and serious when talking to professors because he needs to leave a good impressions on professors: these are also different personalities based on the needs and customs of different contexts. The same rule also applies to online communication: the need for communication on the Internet is to capture attention, which entails personas that are eye-catching, typical, and usually including some extent of exaggeration. And just as a serious personality serves the purpose of impressing professors, a eye-catching and exaggerating persona also makes communication more effective onlines: the more attention one can captures online, the efficiently and widely that one’s idea can be spread and received on the Internet. To be specific, if the college student successfully builds an eye-catching persona online that grants him more followers on Instagram, whe he voices out his idea of promoting the rights of trans people, he ideas will be able to reach and influence more people. Therefore, the act of persona-building is not unique to online communication, and is a neccesary social skill.

Based on this broader definition of social skills, what should be considered is whether the development of online socializing skills hamper the growths in face-to-face communication skills. My answere is negative: the persona that one adoptes online will little affect one’s face-to-face social abilities as one can switch modes of communication based on different occasions. According to research by psychologists and applied linguistics, human beings are very sensitive to the contexts of communication and can swiftly swictch their modes of behavior and expressions to meet the needs of different communication contexts. That is to say, just as one can switch from a casual mode of conversations with one’s friends to a formal mode of communication with teachers, one can just as swiftly switch to the face-to-face communication mode as long as they turn of their mobile devices. Admittedly, if someone spends too much time on social media and almost no time on talking to people in-person, they may have problems communicating with people in face-to-face. Nevertheless, in this case, what hinders one’s development of social skills is the lack of practice in the mode of face-to-face communication, not the act of online communication itself: if one shuts oneself in his or her room, talking no no one online nor in-person, he or she will also gradually lose social skills.

To conclude, unless one spends so much time online that he or she has no time for face-to-face communication, portable devices are unlikely to hamper the growths of social skills.