College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of
jobs in that field.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most
compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.
The choice of the field of study is always a difficult one to make, since that decision will lay the foundation for your future. This could easily be the best decision of your
life on the other hand you may resent this day for the rest of your life. In this essay, I will provide my thoughts on why a college student should always base their
choice of a field to study on the interest and not the job market.
Although the idea of following the crowd is less risky, considering the fear of being jobless but it can lead to a stressful or unsuccessful life as well. There are a
lot of advantages of choosing the field that you love, since the driving force will be the passion to know more, leading to a better understanding of the field,
resulting in improved performance and faster growth. For instance, would it be possible for madam mary curie to teach the world about radio active materials if
she had choosen chemistry as her choice of field? No, she was able to do it because she loved what she did and had channelized her energy to know more and more
even if this desire was killing her.
Conversely, most students take a logical approach while choosing their career path. They compare the fields by comparing the current or increasing popularity
in the world thus killing the original version of themselfs, trying to fit in the society by trimming their choices based on statistics. The outcome of such decisions
are stressful life, less efficiency in work and slow growth. If we extrapolate the effects of stress from work place, we can include the effect this has on
personal life as well. One factor to consider here is that the job market is volatile, changing as I write this essay, the worker always needs to keep themselfs
updated with the current trends and shifts or else the risk of losing the job is more, for example at present we are experiencing a job market shift from a manual work,
where certain skills were given atmost importance, to an automated operation requring only programming skills. This shift is the reason people who developed certain
skills and are a master of it, are sitting jobless while the programmers are taking over multiple jobs at the same time.
To sum it up, the phase "do what you love and love what you do" makes even better sense, love for something is an excellent motivator to be the best in it and considering
the job market who won't want the best?