College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Gone are the days where educated people were the ones who could read and write Latin and Greek, but now the educational spectrum is filled with different fields that are totally distinctive from each other or overlap in certain area. With this backdrop,choosing a field of study has become a challenge in itself.

In this world where to have a means of living is heavily dependent on what you earn, come circles vehemently advise students to base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. This is a seeminly good approach since unemployment according to the World Health Organization WHO is a mental health problem. Therefore pursing a field of study with high job availabilty is an apparently good way to evade the looming mental health challenge after graduation.

However, in my opinion that approach is mainly wrong. Firstly, the main purpose of education is to enlighten, create and reform, jobs are the by-products, hence making jobs the main outcome defeats the purpose of education. Resulting the generation of graduates who are good at performing perfunctory things with little to no understanding as to what they are doing. Secondly, choosing a field of study based on the availability of jobs in that field, does not necessarily imply that you are guranteed a job after graduation, but rather based of how well one understands

and can apply the principles of the field of study he or she finds themselves in. For example, one of the fields with figuratively limitless number of jobs available is the field of tech and IT

yet there are thousands, if not millions of people who are unemployed in this field of study,including myself. Hence one must choose their field of study mainly based on their strenght , weakness and desire for that field.