Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The college and university education plays an important role in an individuals life. What makes this experiance more fruitful is a competant and expert faculty having all the necessary knowledge in thier respective fields of study. The faculty should spend time working outside the academic world in professions revelant to their courses.

Every day, something new is developed in various fields. Scientists and many companies constantly innovate in thier fileds of study and work. The students of many universities and schools will ultimately work in their respective fields of study. If the faculty in these schools is up to date with the ongoing aspects of thier fields, the students will be in the required shape when they come out of their schools.

Every educational institution has course outcomes from its curriculum. The curriculum needs to be up to date with what is going on in the industry. Sometimes, the innovations occur at a very fast rate that it seems immpossible to revise the curriculum that often. But, if the faculty is aware of the professions outside the acedimic world, they can bridge the gap between the curriculum and the necessary information that is lacking in the curriculum. For example, consider the field of computer science. Every day there is news of a new computing technology and thousands of research papers are published. Since the curriculum cannot be updated at this high rate, it is necessary for the faculty to be updated and convey the required information to the student.

It is possible for the faculty get more involved in outside professions and not be able to maintain a balance between their university schedule and industry work. Also, there are fields in which there is not much innovation involved and may not require the faculty to spend time in their professions outside their acedemic world.

In conclusion, the time spent by the faculty outside their academic schedule is important and the schools and universities will produce students more competant and aware of thier professions.