Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The author claims that colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. Some may claim that this is beneficial for all students. However, in this essay, I would argue that this could not be helpful, or even harmful, for some students.

Admittedly, studying at foreign countries would be advantageous for some students. The students can experience different environment, meet various people, and acquire new perspective. In modern academic field, almost every major is becoming more globalized, and such experiences are helpful for ones in that field.

However, there could be some students that would be disturbed by such mandatory requirements. Adapting at foreign environment could disturb some students from concentrating on their major. Moreover, it could be hard to afford one semester in foreign country for who has economic problems. Without decent dormitory with low cost, students in economic problems could be disturbed by cheap and therefore inferior living environment. Furthermore, thanks to modern technology, there are many ways to learn about and experience foreign culture, and cooperate with foreign scholars through internet.

In conclusion, the author’s claim, despite its merits, cannot be beneficial under all circumstances. Indiscriminately requiring students to spend a semester at foreign country would have significant downside, so it would be better to just recommend and support the students to do so, not enforcing them.