“Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Being a top achiever in academics comes with many rewards. Many students in various levels of education strive to get high grades for the benefits it brings. The ambition for good results in schools seems like a totally good thing. However, concerns have been raised as to whether the competition among students to get top results undermines the sole purpose of learning, to learn a skill or gain knowledge. Competition for academic excellence among high school students improves their desire to learn.

Top ranking Universities require high grades t be considered for admission. Many high school students wish is to be admitted to one of the most prestigious universities. These universities have set one of the highest admission requirements. Among the requirements are perfect scores in standardized tests. high school students who wish to get admitted to prestigious universities have to work extremely hard. Universities like Havard and Stanford are two of the most in-demand universities. Their admission criteria are so strict. Students who have been admitted to these two universities testify that the desire to study at those universities motivated them to learn and work hard even more.

While the desire to get into prestigious universities may be a driving factor in increasing the quality of learning, a good reputation for schools also plays a role in uplifting the standards of learning of that particular school. In many developed countries, such as Canada. In China, top-rated schools enjoy many benefits. Top-ranked schools receive the most research grants,f for example, admit the brightest students in that country. Schools raise their standards to receive a top rating. In trying to raise their standards, schools award high-performing students with prizes and scholarships. In return, students who desire scholarships study and strive to learn all that is taught.

In addition to schools wanting a good reputation, Universities use grades to admit students for high-demand study programs. Many universities have a limited number of students they can admit to a particular program of study, as a way to select the most qualified. Universities use grades obtained in high school standardized tests. Every year, over 7000 students apply for admission to Harvard law school and the program only admits 50 students a year. High school students and schools are aware that in-demand programs require good grades and the highest learning standards are required to achieve those grades.

that said the opposing view is that placing so much emphasis on grades beats the purpose of learning. The primary purpose is to learn or gain a skill. exams should only be used to measure our levels of understanding of the materials learned. The argument is that now exams have become so important and that schools are now focusing on getting their students to pass exams. However, this argument is flawed because exams need a level of understanding to pass. high achievers have proven to have fully grasped all the skills and knowledge accorded.

In conclusion, the competition for high grades in high school is a very good selection measure of admission to prestigious universities and it forces high schools to increase their standards for a good rating.