Teaching methods in schools

Everyone would agree that there are various methods of teaching. Some teachers prefer being strict with there students, other teachers take a more lenient approach. In Elementary school, many are of the view that focusing on the positives and ignoring the shortcomings of pupils brings out the best in them, while others are of the view that it does not help in the long run. Thus, in Elementary schools, teachers taking a balanced approach will benefit students and groom them as more matured adults.

One can admit that focusing on positives improves self esteem. Children are greatly affected by what is said to them by teachers. When a teacher is constantly praising a student, there is increased motivation to do even better. Studies have shown that high school performances is directly linked to instructors constantly applauding the positives that students do. The American school administrators strongly encourage tutors to make it known to their students for every noteworthy deed to motivate them.

It is also important to recognize that ignoring negatives means that students do not learn from their mistakes. The main purpose of education is to learn. elementary school serve to groom young children to mature adults. In addition to this, experience tells us that growth occurs when mistakes are corrected. By ignoring mistakes, school children will not learn from their shortcomings . Japan which is regarded to having one of the most educated and mature adults, encourages teaches to lay out mistakes to the pupils. In turn, shortcomings are turned into strengths.

Moreover, Focusing on positives only makes pupils have a lack of maturity to take criticism. Constantly praising a students does a lot of harm with their maturity. Maturity constitutes the ability to take criticism. Focusing only on positives when teaching schools negates this vital lesson. As a result, they grow up to be adults who cannot handle criticism. In America, statistics show that most adults who attended private schools, where the system of only praising the positives is encouraged, tend to show lack if maturity when criticized.

In conclusion, the act of praising positives actions should be encouraged as it improves the self belief of students which is directly linked to academic performances. However, negatives should also be pointed out to students. A balanced approached ensures that students get to learn from their mistakes and they grow to be mature adults that can take criticism.