Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In some cases, true arts suffer from the paucity of money, for the perspective of critics and artists of the fine arts are often diametrically different from that of the public. Therefore, governments often defray their budget to foster the fine art, but some people dissent to this tendency and claim that the funding deteriorates the integrity of arts and hence should be stopped. However, I adamantly believe that funding the arts should be continued, and it is hardly likely that funding will affect the arts to lose its integrity.

Admittedly, in some cases, funding often affects artists to compose their work in favor of their patrons. Baroque musics can instantiate this, for many of them are composed to praise their patrons. For instance, Brandenburg concerto, which is one of the most important works of Johannes Sebastian Bach, is actually composed to extend his gratitude to the Duke of Brandenburg for the funding. In addition, many of other artistic works that are currently presented in many of catherdrals are also deeply influenced by their funders.

However, the novelty of artistic works and the context in which they were created should be considered in a separated way. For example, in case of dealing with the aforementioned Brandenbrug concerto, the tenor of its composition, which is to appreciate for the funding, did not result in the total loss of its integrity and creativity; as mentioned above, it is considered to be one of the most important artistic works of Bach. Although the name of this work was entitled by Duke, most of the artistic experiment of Bach survived, such as the immense counterpoint that continuously appears throughout the composition. As this compelling example reveals, the funding of artistic works not necessarily detract the integrity of them.

In addition to the above-mentioned example, it should also be noted that a myriad of artistic works, including a series of mass works by Bach, Mozart, and Beethoven and religious paintings that were all funded by church in the Middle Age, are not marred in the loss of their integrity. The Pieta, for example, was entirely crated in accordance with the order of its patron. However, the originality of this statue was not blemished even in the presence of irksome patron; the parton’s pertinatious request to mend the statue notwithstanding, the composition of the statue was not altered. As all people might agree with, the artistic integrity of Pieta is not comparable to any other statue of the contemporaries, or even the “pristine” statue that are crated in the absence of funding. Considering that many artistic works still preserve its integrity regardless of their patrons, it should be concluded that it is illogical to hastily conclude that all the funding from the government will affect the artistic works to lose its originality, and that the context in which the artistic works are created should be separated from their integrity.

In brief, although it is granted that funding will have some influence on artistic works, it would not totally obviate the integrity of them, as exemplified by most of integral and creative religious art works of the Middle Age. In addition, it is not persuasive to conclude that the government funding will necessarily have artistic works mired in their of integrity and originality.