Creative artist should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas in words pictures music or film in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option

The very definition of the words creative and artist gives rise to the expectation of being able to artfully express one's thoughts and beliefs. It goes against the humdrum of daily life where people follow routines and in many developed societies, culture is found and preserved in art galleries, theater, exhibitions and the like, rather than the corporate world. Hence to limit the freedom of expression of creative artists is akin to stifling the development of culture and eradicating the building blocks of a society's soul.

This is starkly reflected in Singapore where a recent poll carried out by national broadsheet The Straits Times revealed that respondents consider Artists to be the top "non-essential" job during the COVID-19 pandemic, conveniently oblivious to the fact that art was used to create the icons and images in that very spreadsheet to help disseminate information. This mindset is representative of years of downplaying of the need for arts in a society that is entrenched in the paper chase and rat race, and has been labelled as "souless".

Famous theaters such as Broadway and West End would have not happened if not for the freedom in expressing one's thoughts through music and words. Composers such as Beethoven, filmmakers such as Quentin Tarantino and animated films from Pixar would not be able to see the light of day should there be government restrictions on what they do. The populace would not have had the chance to witness and experience such ingenious story crafting or compositions. To place boundaries on creative artists then is akin to removing colour from a developed picture, rendering it back into a lifeless negative.

However, one must agree that government restrictions are appropriate where the content is incendiary such as hate messages, racism or bigoted remarks falsely parked under the heading of "creative arts". A caricature of a politician may be acceptable in most countries but the depiction of a "blackface" must not be tolerated and the government is the appropriate body to enforce this through legislation. Other times where government intervention is appropriate may come in the form of age-related censorship for materials that contain adult content.

Otherwise, besides general guiding principles from the government to ensure that creative arts reach their targeted and appropriate ideas, there is no reason why their expression should be restricted. They have and will always be an integral part of the development of a person, a community or a country.