A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A national curriculum has many benefits. The first of which allows students the opportunity to be exposed to a variety of subjects not just in the academic but in the practical fields as well. For example, besides the bread and butter subjects in fields of science and humanities, home economics is found in many national curriculums internationally (Singapore being one of them). It allows for students to learn important lifeskills which include cooking. Being able to be exposed to different subjects without being penalised for it in terms of wasted years allows for young students to explore and decide if they are passionate about the various subject matters. If students so decide that none of the subject matters appeal to them, they would have not lost out in terms of time to their fellow peers as everyone goes through the same syllabus. They are then allowed freedom of choice of study in institutes of higher education, or in vocational institutes.

This is important because the number of students that have settled down on a field of study prior to college is few and far between. These students tend to "suffer" in the years they are in the education system. However, not having one might result in more students being unable to decide on a college field of study as they have no idea where to start. A national curriculum then is better for the majority because it introduces them to a variety of subjects.

A national curriculum is also important because it can be used to reflect what is important in the global setting. It allows for the nation to prioritize teaching subjects of study that the nation considers important in the foreseeable future. Having a standardized national curriculum does not mean that it cannot be changed. For example, billingualism was enforced in the national curriculum in Singapore when it was first implemented. Subsequently, the implementation of robotics and coding in recent years reflect the need to keep up with global trends being the foremost priority in the country. These are important changes which one might not have should they be allowed to pursue their own interests.

While one might argue that students should receive education that is tailored to their passion and needs, on a national scale involving countless number of students, this many not be logistically feasible in terms of finances or the manpower needed to carry such a duty out. Hence, a national curriculum should be broad enough to encompass as many fields of study available and provide students a glimpse into their potential as fields of specialisation. This is seen in the usual International Baccalaureate and GCE "O" and "A" levels which includes subjects across languages, sciences and humanities. It should also be flexible enough to allow for modification of its content and coverage to meet national needs and reflect global trends such as in the Singapore context. The benefits of having a national curriculum far outweighs its cons. Thus a nation should require its students to study the same curriculum until they enter college.