The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the business manager bids for an increase in the time devoted to weather and local news. This bid was made in response to the heightened number of complaints from viewers and cancellation of advertising contracts from local businesses which was believed to have stemmed as a result from the less time devoted to weather and local news. This train of thoughts has in place a few assumptions that may be flawed leading to a conclusion that might result in detrimental consequences.

Firstly, the assumption that everything should revert back to square one as a result of increased complaints is hasty. The business manager must detail the content of the complaints. Were the viewers only complaining about the lack of time for weather and local news? They could have very well been complaining about the coverage inaccuracy where the weather forecast has always been wrong for the past few weeks. Instead of being rainy when forecast, the weather turned out to be bright and sunny, and vice versa. Perhaps the viewers are not content with the type of forecasts and areas covered by the weather forecast. For example, instead of a seven-day outlook, the station only reports a 24-hour outlook. This may not be adequate for viewers who may be planning a trip and would like to pack appropriately for the trip. The areas covered by the weather forecast may also not be comprehensive or targeted to where people may reside or travel in. In essence, it is hasty to pin the blame on the lack of time allocated when the reason behind the complaints are not well elucidated.

However, one must acknowledge the possibility of a more comprehensive and detailed weather forecast requiring more time on air compared to a general weather outlook. This can be mitigated by studying the needs of their viewers and formats of presentation that can improve the efficiency of the presentation without compromising on its content. For example, there may be no need to go into detailed weather of areas of the state which does not have much of a population. Having more areas placed on the same map with weather forecasts may save time by allowing viewers to have a macroscopic view of the weather without the need for the presenter to recite the weather in detail. Viewers can be directed to view additional information on their mobile devices or the internet.

The viewers could have also been complaining about the quality of coverage of local news. Perhaps the news station has started focusing on trivial and sensationalised news instead of topics that represent the heart of the local populace such as politics, crime rates or business news. The business manager will have to do a proper market survey on the grouses and needs of their viewers to be able to hit the nail on the head and tailor their solutions to the actual problems.

Secondly, attributing the cancellation of advertisements during the late-night news programmes to the reduced time for weather and local news seems a bit far fetch. If anything, spending more time on national news would be more beneficial for local businesses with an increased outreach to people around the nation instead of just the county or state. Most advertisers cancel advertisement placements mainly due to cost. It would not be far to assume that the advertising costs during the late night news program is too exorbitant for local businesses to afford. No survey or comparison with the advertising rates of other television stations have been done to be able to draw this conclusion conclusively. Knowing the rates of their competitors is required to ensure that they are able to give local businesses competitive rates for advertising.

Thus unless viewers and local companies are able to directly attribute their complaints and cancellations of advertisements to the reduction in coverage, the business manager should not assume that the happenstance of these complaints and cancellations were caused by the coverage reduction.