"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

First, the argument readily assumes that the desire of the corporation to increase the profits is creating conflict between the general welfare of nation . In any country to organize the welfare schemes the government uses the money from the revenue which is generated in different types of taxes. This argument seems to be baseless for various reasons.

Usually in most of the countries the taxes paid my the citizens are proportional to their incomes. Therefore a person with sufficient earning might not feel it as a encumbrance. For instance, If heavy tax is laid on oil, it indirectly affects the person who can afford vehicles which is a relatively luxury commodity which common man and rich can only afford. The taxes collected here can be used for the impoverishment of under privileged by spending it on basic amenities such as education and medical facilities. The welfare schemes not only empower the poor but also curb the rise of anti social activities in the society which is deleterious for the nation.

On the other hand increasing taxes on commonly used items irrespective of stature such as food, medicines may strongly hit a common man, who constitute a major population in developing countries. This directly or indirectly affects the economy whereby decreasing the purchasing power of people.

Taking the above mentioned arguments into consideration. In order to increase their fund the government should not take any measure which would strongly hit the common man at the same time it important for any economy not to abandon the general welfare.

Briefly this argument is weak because it depends on the oversimplified assumption that The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. To better evaluate the argument we would need more information on what the corporation is doing in order to maximize the profits.