Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

This topic raises the issue of whether discussing a controversial issue with someone with contrasting mindset is usefull. The pivotal point here is scope of "usefull". Indisputably, there is no point of arguing unless it is followed by analysis and action. Nevertheless, this discussion will be valuable because it will contain root causes for the controversies in the first place. Thus, I believe that discussing controversial topics with the opposing side is usefull.

First of all, by arguing with those having contradicting view we are exposed to their view points. I would like to point out that learning diverse reasons of opposite belief will help you to understand the causes of these differences. To illustrate, let us take example of very common vegeterians vs non-vegetarians - for all you alure vegetarians about the variety and taste of non-veg they won't even taste your chicken. But only when we discuss this with them we will come to know about their religion and the reason for their beliefs, which is - that human's design of digestive system is similar to herbivores. In this circumstance, obviously some new piece of information will add upto your knowledge and knowledge is never a waste. Consequently, a healthy discussion opens new ways of thinking for us.

Furthermore, if we don't embrace the opinion which is in contrast to that of ours, we'll never know - due to lack of facts - that is it us who needs to change their beliefs or its them. Specifically, if we just dodge a conversation on a sensative topic with an adament person of contrasting view, we are losing an opportunity to know the idealogy of not only that person but the community of people who thinks that way. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that this knowledge is very usefull for us to adopt in a diversified society with people from different parts of the world and with different belief. It is this practicle knowledge that is usefull for us in order to become a better member of society. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrate that we should never avoid discussing controversial topics with people with contrasting opinions.

Admittedly, sometimes its not possible to change the minds of people we are talking to. By only discussing we are not able to change a single thing in this world, but for making a change, discussing and analyzing the depth of any controversial issue is the first step towards the betterment of the society. Therefore, merely discussing is not usefull untill we want to do something about it, that is, it is usefull only when we want to learn the difference and take actions based on it.

In conclusion, although discussing controversies have proved to be no good to any individual, it is important to discuss them in order to learn about their causes and beliefs behind them, which inturn is usefull for us to embrace the diverse yet unified society. As long as some area are involved these controversial debates are usefull in brainstorming the ideas that would benefit the society. In fact, solutions to some of the world's biggest problems lie just a discussion away.