The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

There are many aspects of the argument that are not supported by enough evidence. Are phones really the cause of sidewalk rage?

1

It’s important to know exactly what is wrong with phones. Maybe people look down and text so walk slowly and don’t look where they’re going. Maybe people are distracted while walking and bump into other people. There are many possible reasons, and it’s important to know what those are. Otherwise we can’t imagine the effect that the new law will have.

Just because something worked in Middletown doesn’t mean it will work in Centerville.

2

Middletown might be different from Centerville, so we don’t know whether the law will help in both places. Road rage can be a problem when people drive unsafely or even try to hurt others. Sidewalk rage can be dangerous too because pedestrians are not even protected by the car!

3

It’s possible that people get mad and then destroy property. Or maybe they get in fights and end up destroying something accidentally. There needs to be more evidence of what is happening when someone has sidewalk rage. That way we can look at those events and see what the effect would have been if they had not been on their phone. Furthermore, the argument never specifies what the enforcement will be.

4

Sometimes people do bad things because they don’t think they’ll be caught, or they don’t mind the occasional fine. We don’t know what this will cost because police already have other jobs, and they would have to monitor phone use. If they have to write too many tickets for pedestrian phone use, they might not notice other more serious crimes.

All of these issues could be resolved if we look at Middletown. We can find evidence about how phones cause problems and how the town handles the cost.