Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Everyone has their own view when it comes to a topic. When it comes to controversial topics like politics, religion and LGBT rights, etc. people have their view which is based on their core belief. For example, a Hindu does not have beef because they worship cows as god. No matter how anyone tries to convince, a Hindu will never eat beef. So I do agree with the author on the fact that it is very difficult to change peoples mind when it challenges their core belief.

For instance, when Copernicus stated that Earth is not the center of the universe, his view was discredited by the holy church, The cardinals of the church censured his views because from their point of view all celestial objects revolve around the Earth, they were not ready to accept this even though Copernicus provided all the evidence required to prove his theory. All his attempt in persuading the cardinals went in vain,

Secondly, great artist Leonardo-Da-Vinci was really ahead of his time. He had clear ideas on many medical aspects. He even tested blood transfusion from one body to another for treating sick persons. Which was not accepted by the priests. Even though Da-Vinci was trying to save a person's life, the holy priests were of a different opinion and they thought it was against the will of God.

Thirdly, the Hindu-Muslim conflicts are common in India. When it comes to the Babri Masjid incident, the government is trying really hard to solve this issue for many years. And we are still yet to hear the result from the Supreme court because of people with contrasting views.

With all the above examples it is clear that it is very difficult to change the mind of a person while discussing disputable issues especially when it questions their core belief.