A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Requiring all of the students of a nation to study the same national curriculum until they enter college is not a very wise and justified course of action mandated by a country.

From an early age, children begin to display their aptitude towards different fields and courses. If it were mandated that every student has to study the same courses prescribed under a national curriculum till they enter college, these students would have to deal with such subjects as well, for which they neither have interest nor aptitude. It would be equivalent to forcing a student with aptitude in the sciences to study art and history till they enter college. This particular student would resent these courses, and would probably not perform well, which would decrease his GPA, thus hampering his chances of studying his chosen field at a prestigious university.

According to reputable surveys, it is noted that 35% of the student population does not enrol in higher degrees in a college after high school. They either not intend to or are unable to continue with their education. If a national curriculum is enforced, we would have 35% of students, a massive section of the population dissatisfied with their education and unable to find an appropriate vocation, since they do not have specialised education in any field. They would have basic and medium-level knowledge of the field they are interested in.

It is however important to note that having a national curriculum would ensure that the entire population of students are taught the same things, thus, they would have the same level of knowledge and would be free to pursue their course of interest in college. This would be beneficial as then everyone would have a basic working knowledge of all courses in general.

To conclude, it can be said that it is unwise to mandate the students to study the same national curriculum till they enter college.