Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

For a society to truly advance and flourish in all segments, it is essential to identify and provide adequate training to those children with special talents from an early age.

Statistics show that children from the age of 5 to 12 have a heightened capacity to learn new skills and improve upon their existing innate talents. Therefore, it is very essential that young children who have special talents in any field be identified and given the chance to hone these skills. Proper training from an early age will ensure that these innate talents are developed under the careful supervision of experts of the respective fields. This will ensure that the children grow u to be masters of their respective skill.

These days we see a herd mentality of students to take up a profession which is commonly chosen by their peers. They do not consider their aptitude in other professions or fields and more often than not prove to be average or above-average professionals. Careful identification of talent and aptitude at a young age and proper guidance will ensure that they have an idea as to what is their strength and what other options they can pursue in life. If mong every 100 students, 50 take up engineering, 30 take up humanities and the remaining 20 engage in medical or armed forces, the society would have a very constricted generation of professions. Instead, if children with special talent in the field of gymnastics, soccer, sculpture, ballet et cetera are identified at a young age and are given proper training in their respective fields, they will grow up to be highly trained and expert professionals who will exude confidence and help other young children get in touch with their skills. This process in urn creates a robust society where variation in professions would ideally result in a dynamic and evolving society.

However, it is a very well known saying that no two children are alike. Every child is special in his or her own way. Thus focusing on special training for one, and having the other go through regular curriculum, may cause the latter child to be underconfident and unsure about his abilities. This could in turn prove detrimental to the overall morale of the entire generation where we would have a rift between different children on the basis of how they are treated. It is thus a well-liked opinion that up to a certain age all children be given the same amount of education and exposure, and then when they develop a certain sense of confidence and self-identity, they can choose their preferred vocation.

Although the latest point seems valid for a lot of people, I believe that identification and supervised honing of talents from a young age has far better prospects for the society as a whole.