Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I don't entirely agree with the premise that it is much more important for a leader to maintain the respect of his or her peers rather than having a sound moral judgement.

A leader is someone on whom the entire team depends for the final call of judgment. There may be varying opinions within a group, but the whole enterprise relies on the leader's ability to chaff through all opinions and reach a critical decision. If his ability is somewhat lacking or is overshadowed by the need to maintain respect and veneration for all, there may be adverse consequences the team will have to face as a result of the leader's actions.

Also, the primary aim of the leader should be to guide the group effort to the optimal state. For this, it is important to adhere to a certain code of principles and ethics. Not everyone within the group may think from the same perspective. It becomes fundamental for a leader to be able to choose the correct path from among various opinions and factions that have different ideals and morals. For the betterment of the group and the ultimate goal of completing a task effectively and efficiently, it might be necessary to take a harsh tone with insubordinate members of the group.

However, it should be mentioned here that for a leader to be respected and be someone on whom the group can have unequivocal faith, it is important that there be mutual respect from both ends. A leader who is very haughty and inconsiderate of his subordinates will not be very liked among his group, and the chances of disagreements and misunderstandings might increase in such cases. It is crucial to be able to impart respect to those who are of a differing mindset so that robust decision-making may take place for important causes.

To conclude, it can be said that although it is fundamental that a leader has the sound moral judgment required to make the correct decisions for the group, it is important that he be humble and maintain the respect of his or her peers, especially when disagreeing with their thoughts and ideas.