Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Although some people argue that universities professors have a responsibilities to prevent persuasion of fields in which students have unpromising future, Educational institutions can not predict the success in the field which he or she is pursuing. Sole responsibility of an institute is to only guide the student for taking some courses and not to dissuade the students from pursuing fields.

Educational institute have responsibility towards success and development of the students in a particular field. But this does not mean institute prevent the students from taking fields in which student has unlikely to get success. For instance, India is a big country and due to financial responsibilities of family someone has to do engineering and he is weak in it. But hunger for money make him good engineer so dissuading the student seems very judgemental decision at institute level.

No one has ability to predict someone’s future. In 19th century if someone say that he can make billions of money by just making one software than he lampooned by people. But bill gates have done it by making windows operating system. He is now billionaire because of just one software. His institute not dissuade him to take certain courses and now he is making lots of money.

At early stage anyone can not predict the promising and unpromising fields for the students. Later stage in life students can do things that may seem now unpromising. If students prevented from taking some fields than they do not seek for learning new things. They always do what they know and not do fascinating new things. Students does not even apply their skills albeit that is his strong field may be in future. If Sachin Tendulkar is dissuade from playing cricket in his 10th grade than Indian cricket team does not have such a great player.

All the evidence put forward support an unshaken conclusion that universities have to encourage students to take certain courses but not to dissuade them. Universities should provide platform for growth of the student so that they realize their potential and become better to decide which field to choose themselves.