Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As young children, we studied about various kinds of plants and animals in our books and were quite fascinated by the existence of such species. But the learning experience becomes even more pronounced when we actually go to a zoo or a botanical garden to have a look at the actual plants and animals that we merely discussed about in class. Growing older, we study subjects like chemistry, biology or physics where we have dedicated practical classes because reading and studying about chemical reactions or mathematical formulas is one thing but to actually see such phenomena happen in front of your eyes is a more enthralling experience and helps in inscribing theories and reactions into our minds. Being involved in such experiments also allows us to learn about the intricacies about the topic at hand, the correct procedure to carry out the given phenomenon and also to know the limitations and conditions where it fails to give the desired results.

Such is the case with real life social incidents too. Having discussed the importance of actually witnessing an event unfold or even vicariously experiencing it, I agree with the given statement which highlights the importance of scandals over mere scrupulous speeches given at various events.

When a speaker talks about social issues, the dos and don’ts, she talks about the moral implications of any action we take. She can also discuss the legal penalties associated with a wrong doing. However it is often quite tempting for a lot of people to be involved in activities that are prohibited. The fact that it is not allowed to be involved in an activity makes it an even more thrilling experience to plan and carry out such an activity. Sure, they are aware of what the books say about the consequences of such an act, but the non existence of a punished culprit prompts them to overlook the consequences and carry on. This is what I feel, is the root cause. The existence of actual scandals helps us with tackling such a problem. Once such an act has been performed, caught by the legal bodies and punished makes it the entire incident an example of the consequences of committing a certain crime. Once the people are aware of the repercussions, they abstain from being involved in any such crime.

It also helps at the responsible authorities as such an incident makes them aware of the loopholes in their own functionalities which have been taken advantage of. A lot many financial scandals are a result of the exploitation of such loop holes by a group of smart people. Hence once such fraudulent activities are caught, it allows the authorities to make their system smarter and more meticulous.

Scandals even help speakers and reformers by modifying abstract punishments to real life examples thus leaving a stronger mark on their audiences. Thus speakers actually help spread awareness about the existence of such scandals and the aftermath of the same.Therefore I believe that mere preaching about the rights and wrongs in the society does not have as much as an effect as having the examples of those rights and wrongs as it reminds the people of the repercussions of their actions and thus prompts them to be good humans.