The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens

I personally believe that the nation shines by its people. A country or the country’s leader is defined by its own people. It is for the people the leader emerges and not vice versa. So yes, the effectiveness of the country’s leader lies with the welfare of the people.

Right from the dawn of history, the duty of the government has been two folds: To provide effective administration aiming the welfare of its own kind, Attacking the other military and defending against external troops leading to the wellness of its people. The ultimate destination of both the ways are welfare of the people. But when a nation dares to deviate from the basic checkpoint of making people happy it is definitely marking its own descend

A nation trying to be powerful in military when it has a bottom level hunger index can never make its leader, an admirable one. A leader publishing success stories of reaching trillion economy while 85% of its people cannot afford the basic medicinal needs can never make history. I would like to mention the Former Egyptian president Mr. Hosni Mubarak. He vowed to make Egypt stronger by brewing his military and grooming his external political strategies. Meanwhile an unprecedented unemployment and poverty shook its people. This led to the rise of the August revolt and unveiled the lacking of the Egyptian leader. On the contrary, the names Fidel castro and Raul castro echoed frequently in the entire year of 2020. Their names stood as being the leaders of the only nation winning the COVID -19 while the entire world crumbled. Their name broadcasted as the leaders who provided medical excellence to all its citizens. Their names shone as the leaders who built a magnificent self reliant country with least poverty level. This distinguishes the leader remembered by his deeds to his people.

While discussing about need of the leader’s focus on its people, there arises a very important question: Which people are we talking about? The welfare of which people should the leader focus? Is it the top 5 % elites who posses three quarters of the nation’s wealth or the remaining commoners who fights through every day struggles of life. A leader under whose imperial the tribal people from the forest are evacuated for the construction of Tea factory is definitely inclined for the wellness of the factory owner but is it the wellness that the leader should portray? A leader’s quality is directly proportional to the well being of the one last citizen without any social or economical powers. His actions are indeed to be reflected by making the world a better place for that anonymous commoner.

A leader whose heart flutters for the suffering of all human being begins to glow. A leader who seeks others welfare more than his begins to rise. A leader who wants to create a nation for all begins to lead for a leader is what his people are.