The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Can the well-being of citizen of a country be a true measure of the effectiveness of the country’s leader? This question is often debated heatedly in the political circles with some supporting the notion and some condescending it. I believe that, a person emerges as a leader when the aspirations of the people are reverberating with his vision and hence the citizen’s status help determine the effectiveness of the leader

In India, during 1998-99 there was a new government led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee, that was concentrating only on building infrastructure. New projects worth millions, being built rapidly and seemingly transformed the entire country’s infrastructure for the better. He firmly believed that better infrastructure can bring faster economic development. And his steadfast vision on making Indian an economic supergiant flourished as India soon became one of the fastest growing large economies in the world till date since 2013. Indian economy since then has tripled and to this date all the major economists ascribe this progress to Atal. Citizens as a result had access to better roads, hospitals and rail infrastructure which increased the quality of life significantly and also had better incomes than ever before.

It is also true that country’s leader cannot alone ensure the well-being of the citizen. We live in an increasingly connected world and the effect on one country can create ripples that affect everyone. Today Russia is waging a war against Ukraine, this has led to serious problems for the Ukrainian citizens. The deaths are ever increasing, and general necessities have turned into luxuries. Now as the citizens do not have a comfortable life are they despising their president? The answer would be no since the people still look up to him for hope. They are drawing inspiration from his speeches to resist the forces working against them. Proving further that a leader needs to provide his citizens with hope and aspirations to grow and not only provide amenities to develop their health and economic status.

An effective leader can not only change the lives of his country’s citizen but can also change the perception the world holds against them. In India, people were always regarded as third world citizens who are illiterate and teaming with diseases. Over the course of years, Prime Ministers like Indira Gandhi completely wiped this perception out by strategically winning a few wars against the super economies and proved that the Indian arms and technology was capable and potent enough to sustain India. This led to new found respect for Indians across the globe.

It is true that many other factors determine the well being of the people of the country, but by the far the most impact is created by the effectiveness of the leader. An able leader can change the fae of a country from Good to Worse or vice-versa based on the vision he carries for the betterment of the people.