The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The well-being of a citizen of that country is a safe indicator of how the country is doing overall. Are the citizens healthy? Are they happy? Do they feel safe? These are all great questions to ask. Some might suggest that these questions regarding the well-being of that country’s citizens is the best method to measure how effective a country’s leader is. However, for 2 reasons, I strongly disagree with this notion and I believe that there is a better method.

First, measuring the well-being of a person is a difficult task to perform and one that is very vague. For example, in the United States, different regions of the country could be flourishing while other regions could be heavily struggling. This dramatically affects the desire of people to be willing to help out if a study of “citizens wellbeing” were to be conducted. For example, someone that is struggling to make ends meet, will be obligated with other priorites and most likely will not be willing to participate in the survey. Meanwhile, other indvididuals who are doing well, could be more likely to participate in the surveys. This suggest there could be a potential skew in the data, which would deterious to the study.

Furthermore, measuring well-being of a person is not a good measure of how effective a country’s leader is. During difficult economic times such as a recession, people might be struggling, mentally, physically, and emotionally. This is not fault of the country’s leader, as the leader is just dealt with a bad situation. For example, during the 2008 recession, a study indicated that people’s financial situations and happiness were at an all time low. However, a second study also showed that people’s satisfication with the leader’s action during his presidency were fairly high.

Critics to this line of thought would say that although well-being of citizens fluculate due to circumstances, most things do as well. These critics have a valid point. The economy of a country and the relations with other countries are not always constant. I agree with these critics and I believe that this idea further proves my point. Measuring an objective item such as policy changes would be a better measurement of a leader’s effectiveness. Policy changes shows the leader’s action during times of which they are called upon. If a leader were to show creative thinking, willingness to make tough necessary decisions and quick actions, then a leader would be deemed effect.

Citizen’s well being is important and sometimes, it can be a good indicator of how well a section of the country is doing. However, it is not a good measurement of how effective a leader is. Therefore, a better solution would be to measure policy changes that a leader makes in response to difficult situations.