Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

A career should be defined as an element of life that adds more meaning to it. Life is a series of phases where you have to make a choice every now and then. Youth often receive advice to follow their dreams and to create a path for themselves. But, many people often confuse following your dreams with becoming selfish. Is it wrong? I personally feel that I'm afraid I have to disagree with the Claim made. I would always endorse the idea of listening to your heart over the trends of the market. There is certainly nothing wrong with being selfish for yourself. To explain my stand, I would present 3 situations.

Firstly, since we are talking about young people and their dreams, they are often linked with their success or the jobs that they might end up doing. The 'hot' jobs of today might not always be as famous as it is. For example, After World War II, when nuclear bombs exploded in Hiroshima and Nagasaki, a nuclear age began. Soon everyone wanted to be a nuclear engineer. But if we look now, everyone feels that where there is AI there is success. In such a dynamic world, it is always beneficial to listen to your heart and do what you really want to do. Following your dreams become very important.

Talking about dreams reminds me of the very famous Narayan Murthy, the co-founder of Infosys. He had a dream to bring a technical revolution to the world. To support his dreams, he left his job and gave his heart and soul to Infosys. It might have not been easy to give up your only means of income, to be so selfish for yourself, that you keep the financial stability of your family at stake. Yet, his decision to follow his dreams gave us the multinational company - Infosys.

This idea of following dreams is not only valid in terms of education or business, but also in terms of government policies, rules, and ideas. Several countries in this world, like China, the USA, etc. have a 5-year rule, where a new representative is given the opportunity to run the Government. This allows new ideas to come up. But what is the driving force of these ideas? It's the dreams that these social workers or politicians see. It's their dream to bring a particular change in their country. To fulfill this, they work hard and make sure their dream leads their country to see a brighter sunrise the next day.

Some people might disagree with me stating that people's dreams are inherently selfish or not always for the good of others. But when we specifically talk about young people, as mentioned in the claim, I feel that youth's dreams are the future of this world. They should be left free to think, to dream, and to fly. Even if they are selfish they would be good for their career. They should always be backed to not only follow their dreams but to be behind them so consistently and determinedly, that the dream is fulfilled with complete success. No goals can be stated as worthy or unworthy. One's needs might be the other's leisure. Thus with this, I conclude that by the 3 situations considering education, business, and government policies, I keep my stand strongly that young people should be given wings to fly wherever they want, and should not be tied to the rope of goals that the society state as 'worthy.'