The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The author asserts that the first and foremost step to self-knowledge is the rejection of the familiar. Self knowledge is the knowledge that one attains by experiencing different and unique situations in life and learning from those situtations. I agree with the author's statement because self knowledge will come into place only if we get out of our comfort zone and experience new challenges.

If we don't question the beliefs that are already postulated to us, then we wont get to know if those corresponding beliefs are legit or not. For example, in India, transgender was a violation according to the Indian Constitution. People questioned this particular law about trangender and finally the law was overturned and the people were victorious for eradicating this law.

Rejecting things that are already stated can tend to expand our knowledge. For example, when Britishers were ruling India, Indians fought back for their right and were able to successfully kick out the Britishers from India. So, by rejecting things that the Britishers were stating, the Indians were able to achieve freedom.

One should always try to learn new things and not be stuck with already taught or known information. The difference between ordinary and successful people is that people who are successful always try to get out of their comfort zone and try to learn new things and gain insights and later apply that learned knowledge in their daily lives. This helps them to see the environment around them from a new and different perspective.

It is true that people develop self knowledge from their already known environment but the area of learning is limited. So, one should always reject what is already familiar to them and try to explore more things to gain more self knowledge and see every situation from different angles.