The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore a chain ofvideo rental stores In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits we must reduce operating expenses atMovies Galore s ten video rental stores Since we are fam

In view of the recent decrease in the profits of Movies Galore's video rental stores, the owner released a memorandum which includes changes to the operating time of the stores and elimination of the stock that is released 5 years ago. This alterations were made keeping in mind, significant decrease in operating conditions of one of its stores in Marston. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated these three questions must be answered.

First of all, are the remaining nine rental stores comparable to the store at Marston? In other words, are the operating conditions and the expenses same at all the stores operated by Movies Galore?  It is possible that Marston is located at a less populated area where people tend to stay indoors after the sunset to avoid the miserable activates that happen during the night in less populated areas. Further, there is a possibility that the electricity expenses are high in the Marston which is less densely populated and this might not be problem with other rental stores. Taking the above scenarios into consideration the conclusion draw is weaken.

Secondly, do people not watch movies that are older than five years? The owner of the Movies Galore prematurely assumes that the people are not interested to watch movies that are older than 5 years. People like different types of movies and watch them to pass their free time. Maybe people are interested in watching a movie that was released eight years earlier due to the recent fame it gained or the movies in the present time are not the ones they seek or enjoy watching with family. If the present movies are not their cup of tea they will definitely watch the older movies which they can spend their time watching alone with the families. If the above is true the assumption doesn't hold water.

Finally, instead of focusing on the operating conditions of the store one can think of the suggest improving the quality of movies that are being rented. The profit in the store in Marston is only studied for a month and the changes are assumed to bring profit to nine such other stores which is highly unlikely to be possible. Further, there is chance that the stores once the changes are in effect might even decrease the profit and end up being in loss. If the assumption made in above is considered to be true , the recommendation is further weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on uncertified assumptions. In order to evaluate it any further, there is a need to provide more evidence. With more evidence, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the recommendation.