Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue expresses whether or not formal education tends to restrict freedom of minds and spirits. In most countries, unerring the goals of formal education are to rear students in a way to can be a better human and develop their society. But, sometimes formal education can be a little harmful and hold back students mind and spirit.

First of all, it is important to point out things that help the mind and spirit become free. When everybody does activities that he/she likes it, then finds motivation to do it in the best way. Motivated people with permanent effort can create or obtain huge goals. So, formal education provides a curriculum from different fields for example math, biology, chemistry, geometry, language, sport, and arts to introduce most fields and account for students to discover their interests. So, if somebody likes a field they can continue to learn it and progress their creativity in that way. Thus, an effective curriculum in formal education makes a chance for students to find their interests and pleasures.

On the other hand, there is something wrong in the process of learning in formal education and it is a flowchart in the curriculum. Whether a uniform curriculum will be efficient for the nation, yet it can be boring for students. In some countries, formal education follows a flowchart for learning program and compel students to obey a flowchart instead of own interests. For example, who are interested in art and not interested in math, have to study mathematic and do not allow them to set their minds and spirits free. There are lots of examples in actors and actresses who do not have a university degree or high school diploma. They are generally finding and progressing their interests.

Finally, While formal education enforces students to do limited activities, it consumes all time and energy of students. We are familiar with the expression “top students” that imply to students who can better adapt themselves to the curriculum. Therefore, they are encouraged by teachers or parents. But, it should be noted that all students are not similar to each other and they are a different person with different talents and interests that if there do not have freedom for minds and spirits, they may become depressed. Teachers want students to read lessons that may not be attractive and do not grow student’s creativity and increase stress in students to get a better score and compete with each other to be top students. Thus, in some cases, students squander their time and energy to satisfy teachers and parents instead of considering own interests and creativeness of their minds.

To sum up, the main purpose of formal education should be preparing students to find their interests and make their minds and spirits free from the uniform curriculum which makes them bored. Formal education should consider students' differences and have important rules to improve their talent.