Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many memoirs of great people often depict education as marring people’s creativity, as one can easily find in that of Ludwig van Beethoven. In this light, some people argue that formal education tends to restrict people’s creativity and mental freedom. Although there are some cases where education limits people’s creativity, I adamantly believe that formal education is crucial to liberate our minds and spirits in most cases.

Granted, in some cases, formal education often restrains our minds and spirit. This is because the obstinacy of the formal educational curriculum sometimes hampers people from thinking in a different way. To illustrate, in the case of dealing with Ludwig van Beethoven, his characteristic deviation from the early composing tendency of Baroque music epitomizes this perspective. Although Beethoven underwent formal education curricula by his father as a kid, he was disgruntled by the stiffness of the composing technique and later tried to defy the convention of Baroque music. Therefore, he tried a series of musical experiments that culminated in one of his most significant symphonic works, Eroica. In that symphony, Beethoven composed his music in an unorthodox way, which is manifested in the reversed tempo of the second and the third movement of the symphony. If Beethoven had just passively followed the formal education, he would not have been able to compose such an innovated work and became one of the most significant classical composers. Therefore, as this compelling example reveals, there are indeed some cases where formal education vitiates an individual’s creativity.

Regardless of the previous case, however, in most cases, formal education actually plays a pivotal role in extending people’s creativity and liberating their spirit. This tendency is especially significant in the academic fields, for many creative academic works were in general engendered within the context conveyed by formal education. The theory of relativity created by Einstein can illustrate this point of view. Although peoples sometimes misunderstand that Einstein’s theory of relativity was entirely different from the classical mechanics, but that is not the case. The very motive of his theory of relativity was to reconcile the discrepancy between the classical physics and the classical electrodynamics. Therefore, he actively used the knowledge that he gained throughout the formal curriculum. Furthermore, when he was formulating the theory, he actively adapted the differential geometry that he learnt during his PhD. In other words, the theory of relativity could not have been invented were it not for the extensive formal education he had underwent throughout his early life. Therefore, formal education indeed plays a pivotal role in developing creativity and spiritual freedom.

Furthermore, the positive effect of the formal education on creativity is not restricted to the field of science but also extends to the field of the arts. This is because the creativity of the arts is often within the context that constitutes the formal pedagogical curriculum. For instance, the case of Johannes Sebastian Bach can substantiate this point of view. Unlike Beethoven, however, Bach’s greatness does not come from his departure from the formal convention of Baroque music. Rather, he culminated the musical convention throughout his musical works, such as his Mass in B minor and St. Matthew’s passion by thoroughly studying them by following a series of formal curriculum. Therefore, even in the arts, formal education plays a pivotal role in the artist’s creativity.

In brief, although there are some cases where formal education restricts our mind and spirit, it in general significantly contributes to our creativity. Therefore, rather than myopically seeking something creative outside the formal education, young people should thoroughly understand the knowledge that formal education conveys.