Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given prompt states that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather that set them free. The given topic is highly contentious because different people may have disparate positions and opinions in the statement. Some people can go for, while others cannot argue with it at all. Personally, I agree with the given statement that free education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather then set them free. The supporting reasons and examples for my position is presented in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, formal education comprise of definite syllabus, specific subjects, and relevant coursework which confine us in the limited area; we should limit our thinking in certain area only so formal education tends to restrain our mind and spirit rather than set them free. For instance, Prabesh, a friend of mine, has shared his experience of formal education; he mentioned that definitely we can gain many knowledge of different fields by formal education but it confines us from learning diverse area. In his experience, he mentioned that due to formal education he could not implement his innovative idea when he was pursuing formal education but later when he completed formal education he implemented that idea. Therefore, formal education tends to restrain our mind and spirit.

Furthermore, formal education does not allow to think freely because it is designed to gain specific knowledge and it has specific pattern of teaching and learning which prevents students to think in wide horizon; it prevents innovation, and ideas because ideas and innovation needs free mindset. Therefore formal education tends to restrain our mind and spirit rather than set them free. For example, Riya, an engineering student, has shared about formal education in a forum that she felt so confined during her engineering course; she mentioned that she felt formal education tends to restrain her because she was so busy in her coursework, assignments and exams that is why she could not make her mind and spirit free.

However, some argue that formal education gives us different paths to think. Although we cannot deny their argument that formal education can give many knowledge and path to think, formal education push us to think in specific area rather than broad area. For example, I am also an engineer, to get certificate and engineering knowledge of my field I joined formal education in Tribhuvan University where I feel so many pressure, workload of studies. During four years period I compromised by not allowing my mind and spirit free because of formal education and I had to complete so many tasks within specific time frame. Yes, I also agree that formal education give us knowledge of specific area but at the same time, it restrains our mind and spirit rather than set them free.

To sum up, the reasons and examples presented support my position that I agree with the given statement. The reasons presented tells that formal education restrain our mind and spirit rather than set them free. The examples of Prabesh, Riya and myself illustrates that formal education did not give us free thinking.